The Geographical Branch studies the natural landscape of Canada and man's impact on it. Its main research effort is in the fields of economic geography, geomorphology, glaciology, cartography and toponymy. Emphasis in economic geography is on regional studies and the computer analysis of the flow of commodities and people to provide basic data and recommendations for regional planning and policy making. Major emphasis in geomorphology has been on Baffin Island where Branch geographers carried out their fifth successive summer operation in 1965. The studies include a detailed evaluation of the history of deglaciation over the past 12,000 years and of the associated changes in the positions of land and sea.

The Branch is mapping Canada's 16 largest cities at the request of the federal Emergency Measures Organization; the maps are on a scale of 1:25,000 and are in colour. The mapping of Vancouver, Montreal, Toronto, Ottawa and Windsor has been completed.

The Branch substantially modified its land-use program in 1964 to meet the requirements of the Canadian land inventory section of the Agricultural Rehabilitation and Development Act (see p. 450). It is at present mapping land use of the settled areas of Ontario, Quebec and the Atlantic Provinces and co-ordinating the mapping of relevant sections of the western provinces, which is being undertaken on a contract basis. The end product will be a series of transparent cronaftex map sheets, on a scale of 1:50,000, to be used as computer input along with maps showing soils and climatic factors for evaluation of land capability on a regional scale.

The Branch has also studied high arctic landscapes, particularly on Melville and Boothia Peninsulas, Axel Heiberg, Cornwallis, Prince Patrick and Ellef Ringnes Islands, and has issued several publications on the special surface characteristics of this high arctic "periglacial" area. The Cypress Hills of Saskatchewan and Alberta is slated for intensive geomorphological studies over the next several years.

In glaciology, attention is focused on participation in the International Hydrological Decade. Branch geographers will investigate a series of small glaciers running east-west from the dry Rocky Mountain east slope to the wet west flank of the Coast Range of British Columbia to assess the glacial contribution to the water resources of this vital water-surplus area. They will prepare an inventory of Canadian glaciers, their past history and current condition, and continue the study of the Barnes ice cap on Baffin Island and the distribution of sea ice in the Queen Elizabeth Islands. The knowledge gained from the latter project is expected to lead to long-range ice forecasting in the area.

A desk atlas of Canadian geography, one of the Department's centennial projects, is in preparation.

In addition to the above Branches, the Department contains a Mineral Resources Division which provides a mineral information service that is freely used by government departments, mining and allied industries and others interested in mining or its significance in the Canadian economy. A mineral resources index inventory is maintained of all known occurrences and of mines, both active and potential. The Division makes economic studies of different phases of the mining industry. It administers the Emergency Gold Mining Assistance Act, prepares reports, on request, to aid in the administration of such matters as tax exemptions on new mining properties, and prepares reports and briefs on general legislation, taxation and tariff matters connected with the mineral industry. The Division is widely known for its publications, among the most valuable of which are the annual reviews of production, marketing and other matters concerning 64 minerals. It issues more detailed economic studies of metals and fuels of current interest and prepares annual lists of metallurgical works, metal and industrial mineral mines, milling plants, coal mines and petroleum refineries. Also published are special monographs on mining laws, taxation and subjects of particular interest to the mineral industry.

The Dominion Coal Board.*—The Board was established by the Dominion Coal Board Act (RSC 1952, c. 86) which was proclaimed on Oct. 21, 1947. By this Act the

Revised under the direction of C. L. O'Brian, Chairman of the Dominion Coal Board, Ottawa.